--- title: "Why does my Display show \"No content available to play?\"" slug: "why-does-my-display-show-no-content-available-to-play" updated: 2026-11-06T21:50:53Z published: 2026-11-06T21:50:53Z canonical: "support.skykit.com/why-does-my-display-show-no-content-available-to-play" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.skykit.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Why does my Display show "No content available to play?" There are a few scenarios where “No content available to play” will show on the screen. ## Content Has Been Deleted If the Content, Collection, Playlist, or Program playing on the device has been deleted from Beam, this message will show on the display. ### Content Deleted Accidentally? In some scenarios, we may be able to recover content deleted accidentally. Content [support@skykit.com](mailto:support@skykit.com) for help. ## Play Rules are Set for No Content to Play If your [Playlist](/v1/docs/managing-playlists-in-skykit-beam) or [Collection](/v1/docs/how-to-set-up-collections-layouts) has Play Rules configured so that no entries are currently available to play. (For example, all your entries are set to play between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm and it’s currently 5:30 p.m.) ### Don’t Want to See this Message? You have a few options for not showing this message when there is no content available to play according to Play Rules. #### Configure Display Fallback Content [Display Fallback Content](/v1/docs/setting-up-fallback-actions) can be configured to allow you to set content you would like to play in the scenario where no content is scheduled. #### Use CEC to Turn Off Your Display If you would prefer that the Display power off or go to sleep when no content is available to play, try our CEC integration to automatically send an off command to Displays when no content is available, then turn it back on when content is available to play. ## Device is Offline Normally, your device will play cached content when it goes offline. However, if it was already showing this message due to deleted content and hasn’t come online since, it will need to come online to receive any content updates you may have sent to the device.